应用注意事项:适用于无人飞行器和无人机的SWap高级红外光学镜头.

应用注意事项:适用于无人飞行器和无人机的SWap高级红外光学镜头.

背景介绍在安防和监控领域,远距离红外 (IR) 成 像技术在监控、追踪和定位方面发挥着越来越重要的 作用。预计用于商业、两用安防和监控应用的红外系 统的全球市场会快速增长,其规模将在2025 年达到总 计 2.43 亿美元,[1] 年均复合增长率 (CAGR) 为 6.1% (2019-2025)。

利用红外成像技术,红外相机配备有高性能红外镜头, 红外镜头能够有效捕捉到发射出的红外辐射,并将其 聚焦到探测器阵列上,可以在极远范围内拍摄人员和 车辆图像。

用于远距离安防和监控的红外光学镜头的生产受近期以 下市场趋势影响:


图 1:安防和监控摄像头所采用的红外成像技术

  • 接近衍射极限红外系统的发展
    随着红外探测器 像元尺寸的减小,分辨率的不断增加,这就要求 红外光学镜头要尽可能的接近衍射极限。这对红 外光学元件的加工,装配提出了更高的要求。
  • 无人机在安防和监控方面的应用愈加频繁
    无人机载荷有着严格的 SWaP(尺寸、重量和功率) 限制,因此需要新的创新型光学机械设计。
  • 对多光谱功能的需求
    对多光谱功能系统的需求大增,包括短波红外 (SWIR) + 中波红外 (MWIR)、中波红外 (MWIR) + 长波红外 (LWIR) 以及可见和近红外波段,因此对光 电载荷规格提出了新要求。
  • 在各类环境条件下均可持续运行
    安防和监控任务昼夜进行,同时还需承受下雨或起 雾等恶劣的能见度条件。因此,光学镜头必须经久 耐用,在各类环境条件下均可保持高性能表现。

难题 鉴于上述趋势,光学制造商面临以下挑战:如何 在现代安防和监控成像系统的限制要求下生产出高性能 光学产品。

为此,应考虑到以下关键因素:

  • 具备远距离探测、识别与辨识 (DRI) 功能
  • 镜头匹配的探测器类型(波段,制冷或非制冷)
  • 探测器分辨率和像元尺寸
  • 焦距和F数
  • 尺寸和重量限制 SWaP 限制, 特别是无人机系统的限制)
  • MTF要求
  • 环境要求

出于这些考虑,Ophir 采用了创新型设计和制造技术。


图 2:折叠式光学变焦镜头设计

解决方案 采用下述红外光学元件构造方式,Ophir 得以应对远距离安防和监控系统的严峻挑战:

连续变焦镜头设计
由于连续变焦镜头仅包含一个变焦镜头,而非多个单视场角 (FOV) 镜头,因此可在减少体积和重量的情况下实现高的性能。为确保安防和监控任务的灵活性,在使用过程中,用户可以随意改变放大倍数。

创新的光学设计

  • 先进的红外材料可减少元件数量,解决无热化、消色差、尺寸及重量问题。
  • 折叠式光学设计还可减少尺寸和重量(见图 2)。
  • 衍射极限的光学设计可实现最高性能

创新的机械设计
使用以下部件,机械设计确保了恶劣环境条件下的耐用性,确保了在不同环境条件下的高度准确性和稳定性:

  • 高精度的机械部件
  • 具备高度准确性和稳定性的基座与硬质涂层部件
  • 优质材料,实现无热化与 SWaP 设计
  • 适应各种恶劣环境条件的组件
为耐受冲击和振动,Ophir 优化了镜头组件的重量和刚性。工程师设计并测试运动部件,使其在极端环境条件下无需维护即可拥有较长的使用寿命。镜头组件 (第一片)具备 IP67 或以上的环境等级要求。

先进的生产能力
凭借先进的自主生产能力,公司可制造出适用于特定应用的部件,部件形状多样,应用材料丰富。此外,为获得更长焦距,具备高精度的大尺寸光学元件生产能力也是很重要,因此我们先进的镜头生产能力正是应对此类挑战的关键因素之一。

光学镀膜也对光学性能起着重要作用。Ophir 采用高耐久性 (HD) 和低反射硬碳 (LRHC) 增透膜,大幅提高产品在极端环境条件下的性能与耐用性。此类镀膜还适用于多光谱应用。

产品功能
为满足安防和监控应用的需要,Ophir 为提供了全套产品,其主要特性如下:

  • 在整个变焦范围内保持光轴一致
  • 在整个变焦范围内保持固定F数
  • 在整个变焦范围内保持齐焦性
  • 在低温和恶劣的环境条件也可工作
  • 保持高图像质量
  • 快速变倍实现视场切换
  • 兼容主要的中波红外和长波红外探测器

为证明公司实力,我们介绍以下三款长有效焦距 (EFL) 变焦镜头,它们在远距离安防和监控应用中均有出色表现:


图 3:Ophir 最长焦距远距离连续变焦镜头。 从左到右: 28-850mm f/5.5、45-900mm f/4.0 及 SupIR 50-1350mm f/5.5

SupIR® 28-850mm f/5.5
该镜头的主要特性:

  • 覆盖中波红外光谱范围,波长为 3μ 至 5μ
  • 兼容像素间距为 15μ 的高清探测器 (1280 x1024)
  • 30 倍变焦比
  • 折叠式设计
  • 光轴一致性良好
  • 工作范围较远(探测范围超过 20 km,详见图 7)


图 4:SupIR 28-850mm f/5.5 MTF 性能

图 4 为镜头在窄视场 (NFOV) 与宽视场 (WFOV) 下的 MTF。可以看出,WFOV 和 NFOV MTF 均接近衍射极限,

SupIR® 45-900mm f/4
该镜头由 15-300mm f/4 镜头与 3 倍光学增距镜组成。它们构成变焦镜头,有效焦距可达 900mm,具备 20 倍变焦比,在整个变焦范围内实现固定F数为 4.0。

图 5 给出该镜头在 WFOV 和 NFOV 下的 MTF 图。 可以看出WFOV 和 NFOV MTF均接近衍射极限。


图 5:SupIR 45-900mm f/4 MTF 性能

SupIR® 50-1350mm f/5.5
该系列的第三款镜头为 50-1350mm f/5.5 变焦镜头,产品在 28-850mm 镜头的基础上另配了一个增距镜。与 28-850mm 变焦镜头类似,这款产品支持 SXGA 1280 x 1024 分辨率,15μ 焦平面阵列 (FPA) 格式,性能接近衍射极限。作为目前公司产品系列中焦距最长的镜头,该产品符合空中及监控应用对远距离热成像光学元件的严苛要求,其探测距离可超过 26km。

图 6 是 50-1350mm f/5.5 镜头在 WFOV 和 NFOV 下的 MTF 图表该产品的 MTF 性能与构成的 28-850mm 变焦镜头相差无几。因此,在整个焦平面上,其宽窄视场角上的矢向 MTF 均接近衍射极限。


图 6.SupIR 50-1350mm f/5.5 MTF 性能

图 7 给出此类镜头的 DRI 性能值,其中 SupIR 50- 1350mm f/5.5 镜头的探测范围可超过 26km。我们使用 美国陆军夜视实验室 (U.S Army Night Vision Lab) 的 FLIR92 模型计算 DRI 范围,假设大气衰减系数值为 0.2km-1。如图 4-6 所示,由于镜头具备较长的有效焦 距,且 NFOV MTF 值较高,因此 DRI 距离较远。


图 7:各镜头的探测、识别与辨识范围。

结论 对于小像元尺寸探测器和远距离探测光学系统而 言,其光学、机械及变倍的配置和部件是实现高性能的 关键所在。

当涉及到无人机载荷等受限平台时,产品必须采用在全变 焦范围内均可实现高光学性能的轻量化设计。

为在恶劣环境条件下获得高分辨率成像,镜头必须具备 较长的焦距和高变比,此外还需要高耐性用镀膜确保光 学系统具有高的且稳定的透过率。

凭借全新设计与先进生产能力的绝佳组合,Ophir 推出 具备高图像质量、高分辨率和连续变焦功能的产品,产 品在恶劣环境条件下也可实现远距离探测,从而满足了 安防和监控市场中下一代远距离热成像应用的需求。

参考文献
1. Maxtech International Inc.: “The world market for commercial and dual use infrared imaging and infrared thermometry equipment”, 2020.

Read TutorialRead as PDF

联系我们

Application Note: IR Zoom Lenses for Long-Range Security and Surveillance Applications

Application Note: IR Zoom Lenses for Long-Range Security and Surveillance Applications

BACKGROUND In the security and surveillance markets, long range, infrared (IR) imaging plays an increasingly important role for monitoring, tracking, and targeting. The worldwide market for IR systems for commercial and dual-use security and surveillance applications is estimated to grow rapidly and reach a total of $243 million dollars by 2025,[1] with a CAGR of 6.1% (2019-2025).

Harnessing the technologies of IR imaging, long-range IR cameras can capture imagery of people and vehicles at extreme ranges vital to today’s long-range security and surveillance challenges. These IR cameras must be equipped with high performance IR lenses that can effectively capture the emitted IR radiation and focus it onto a detector array.


Fig. 1. IR Imaging in Security and Surveillance cameras

The production of optical components, such as IR lenses, for long-range security and surveillance, has been influenced by the following recent market trends:

  • Development of optics-limited IR systems
    advances have led to sensors with smaller pixels, increased camera resolution and high definition format, resulting in requirements for optics-limited IR systems with advanced, high-precision IR optical components and lens assemblies.
  • Growing use of UAVs and drones for security and surveillance
    UAVs and drones have strict SWaP (size, weight and power) restraints, necessitating new, innovative opto- mechanical designs.
  • Demand for multi-spectral capabilities
    An increased demand for systems with multi-spectral capabilities, covering SWIR+MWIR, MWIR+LWIR, as well as VIS and NIR bands, leads to new specifications for IR components and assemblies.
  • Constant operation in a wide range of environmental conditions
    Security and surveillance missions are carried out both day and night, and under harsh visibility conditions such as rain or fog. Therefore, optical components must be durable, and retain high performance in all environmental conditions.

PROBLEM In light of the aforementioned trends, optical manufacturers are tasked with the challenge of producing optical components that provide high performance capabilities within the constraints and demands of a modern security and surveillance imaging system.

The following key considerations should be addressed for this purpose:

  • Detection, Recognition and Identification (DRI) requirements with long range capabilities
  • Camera’s choice of sensor, either uncooled LWIR or cooled MWIR
  • Detector resolution and type
  • Focal length and F#
  • Size and weight limitations (SWaP constraints, especially relevant for UAV and drone systems)
  • Modulation Transfer Function (MTF) requirements for optical performance
  • Environmental requirements

To take these considerations into account, Ophir uses new innovative designs and manufacturing technologies.

SOLUTION Ophir uses the following approaches to create IR optics that meet the rigorous challenges of long-range security and surveillance systems:

Continuous zoom lens design
A continuous zoom lens design allows high performance with reduced size and weight, as it contains just one zoom lens, compared to multiple, single FOV lenses. For security and surveillance mission flexibility, operators can easily change the magnification during operation.

Innovative optical design

  • Advanced IR materials allow for a reduction in the number of elements, which addresses athermalization, achromatization, size, and weight considerations.
  • Folded optics designs also allow a reduction in size and weight (see fig.2).
  • Diffraction-limited designs allow for the highest performance possible.


Fig. 2. Folded optics zoom lens design

Innovative mechanical design
Mechanical design ensures durability in harsh environmental conditions, as well as high accuracy and stability in varying operational situations, utilizing the following components:

  • High-precision, high-grade mechanical components
  • High accuracy and stability ground and hard-coated parts
  • Advanced materials to ensure athermalization and low-SWaP design
  • Durability to harsh environmental conditions
Ophir optimizes lens assemblies for weight and rigidity to withstand shock and vibration. Engineers design and test moving parts for long life without maintenance in extreme environmental conditions. Lens assemblies meet or exceed IP67 environmental standard.

Advanced production capabilities
With cutting-edge, in-house capabilities for component production, components can be made in many shapes and materials, suited to their specific application. Moreover, large optics with high precision are crucial for obtaining small fields of view (FOV) and our advanced high-end lens production capabilities is one of the key contributors to addressing the challenges.

Optical coatings are also vital for optical performance. Ophir uses high durability (HD) and low reflection hard carbon (LRHC) AR coatings to maximize both performance and toughness for operability in extreme environmental conditions. These coatings are suitable for multispectral applications as well.

Product Capabilities
Ophir offers a broad range of products for security and surveillance applications with the following key characteristics, meeting the application’s demands:

  • Maintaining boresight through the full zoom range
  • Maintaining fixed F# through the full zoom range
  • Maintaining focus through the full zoom range
  • Operating in low temperatures and harsh environmental conditions
  • Maintaining high image quality
  • Providing fast FOV change with continuous optical zoom position adjustability
  • Providing compatibility with major MWIR & LWIR detectors

To demonstrate our capabilities, we present the following three long EFL zoom lenses that provide state-of-the-art capabilities for long-range security & surveillance applications:


Fig. 3. Ophir’s longest FL’s long-range continuous zoom lenses. L > R: The SupIR 28-850mm f/5.5, SupIR 45-900mm f/4.0, and SupIR 50-1350mm f/5.5

SupIR® 28-850mm f/5.5
The main features of this lens are:

  • MWIR spectral range – 3μ to 5μ wavelength
  • Compatible with High Definition detector format (1280 x1024) with 15μ pixel pitch
  • 30x zoom ratio
  • Folded design
  • Tight boresight retention
  • Extremely long operational range (over 20 km detection, see figure 7 for details)


Fig. 4. SupIR 28-850mm f/5.5 MFT performance

Fig. 4 describes the MTF charts of this lens at both NFOV and WFOV. These charts show the Sagittal (S) and Tangential (T) components of the MTF as a function of the spatial frequency at different field positions across the focal plane for both WFOV and NFOV. As can be seen, the Sagittal MTF at both the WFOV and NFOV is close to the diffraction limit over the whole focal plane, while the Tangential component is lower, especially at the WFOV.

SupIR® 45-900mm f/4
This lens is a combination of the 15-300mm f/4 lens and a 3x optical extender. Together they form a zoom lens with a long EFL of 900mm, a 20x zoom ratio, and fixed F# of 4 along the entire zoom range.

Fig. 5 describes the MTF charts of this lens at both NFOV and WFOV. For this lens, both Sagittal and Tangential MTF components are close to the diffraction limit at both the WFOV and NFOV with some degradation towards the focal plane corners.


Fig. 5. SupIR 45-900mm f/4 MFT performance

SupIR® 50-1350mm f/5.5
The third lens in this family is the 50-1350mm f/5.5 zoom lens, which is based on the 28-850mm lens with an extender. Similar to the 28-850mm zoom lens, this product supports the SXGA 1280 x 1024, 15μ FPA format, with close to diffraction limit performance. Being the longest focal length lens currently available in our portfolio, this product fits the most demanding requirements of longrange thermal imaging optics for aerial & surveillance applications, with detection ranges of more than 26km.

Fig. 6 presents the MTF graphs of the 50-1350mm f/5.5 lens at both NFOV and WFOV. Its MTF performance follows to the 28-850mm zoom lens from which it is composed. Consequently, the Sagittal MTF at both the WFOV and NFOV is close to the diffraction limit over the whole focal plane, while the Tangential component is lower.


Fig. 6. SupIR 50-1350mm f/5.5 MTF performance

The DRI performance values for these lenses are described in figure 7, where the ranges reach up to an impressive >26km, achieved by the SupIR 50-1350mm f/5.5. We calculated the DRI ranges by using the U.S Army Night Vision Lab’s FLIR92 model, assuming a value of 0.2 km-1 for the atmospheric attenuation coefficient. The long DRI values are obtained thanks to the long EFL values and the high NFOV MTF values, as shown in figures 4-6.


Fig. 7. Detection, recognition, identification ranges for each of the lenses.

CONCLUSION Optical, mechanical and zoom designs for configurations and components are key to ensuring high performance for small pixel sensors and long-range detection optical systems.

When it comes to constrained platforms, such as UAVs and drones, lightweight designs with high optical performance over the entire zoom range are a must.

For high resolution imaging in harsh environmental conditions, lenses must be manufactured with the longest focal length and zoom ratio capabilities, as well as with high durability coatings to ensure continued performance and an extended product lifetime.

Using this unparalleled combination of the latest designs and production capabilities, Ophir is ready to meet the needs of next-generation, long-range thermal imaging applications in the security and surveillance market with high image quality, high resolution, continuous zoom, and long-range operational distances in harsh environmental conditions.

REFERENCES
1. Maxtech International Inc.: “The world market for commercial and dual use infrared imaging and infrared thermometry equipment”, 2020.

Read TutorialRead as PDF

Contact us