用于下一代热成像应用的 先进红外联系变焦镜头

用于下一代热成像应用的 先进红外联系变焦镜头

摘要: 在本文中我们回顾了红外变焦镜头的最新进 展,这些镜头可满足对减小尺寸、重量和功率 (SWaP) 的挑战性要求,同时能够在恶劣的环境条件 下以及在机载和便携式系统等受限平台上,实现高 的成像性能。描述了为下一代红外热成像系统和应 用优化的高级折叠式光学镜头和轻量级连续变焦镜 头的设计考量和性能。

1. 简介
红外成像应用的发展日新月异,不断向着尺寸小、重 量轻和功率低 (SWaP) 的方向发展。尤其是手持式热 成像仪 (HHTI)、无人机和小型云台等应用对体积小巧、 重量轻、功耗低的高性能红外热成像系统的需求越来 越大。虽然探测器的进步可以提高成像性能,但如果 没有红外光学镜头质量的相应配套发展,整个红外系 统性能也很难提高。即在尺寸受限系统中,即使采用 最好的探测器,镜头质量在决定成像性能方面仍起着 重要作用。设计和制造出紧凑轻巧,性能优异的镜头 的重担就落在了光学制造商身上:需要在整个变焦范 围内都有清晰的图像;接近衍射极限的 MTF。在这种 情况下,需要运用各种技术来满足这些光学需求,包 括创新的光机械设计[1]、 特殊材料[2,3]以及自由曲面光学设计[4]。在本文中我们 分别基于独特的折叠式光学镜头和轻量化光学镜头,展 示了两个具有SwaP特性的红外连续变焦镜头,其适用 于下一代红外制冷探测器和受限平台的热成像应用。

2. 连续变焦镜头 SWaP 设计
下面介绍两个用于中波制冷红外探测器的 SWaP 变焦 镜头的例子。第一个是 16-180mm f/3.6 连续变焦镜头, 采用折叠式光学配置,适用于配备 10μm 像元尺寸制 冷探测器。第二个 SWaP 例子是 20-275mm f/5.5 连续 变焦镜头,采用独特的轻量级光机设计,适用于无人 机载荷和手持便携式设备的应用。

2.1. 折叠式光学 16-180mm f/3.6 变焦镜头设计
图 1(a) 展示了 16-180mm f/3.6 变焦镜头的光机布 局和图片,该变焦镜头针对中波红外 10μm 像元尺 寸探测器进行优化设计。


图 1:折叠式光学 16-180mm f/3.6 变焦镜头——(a) 光机布局和图片,(b) MTF 特性

折叠式光学设计可以有较长光程,从而降低了对公差的敏感度,同时我们能够生产具有高精度的非球面和衍射面,包括光轴稳定性和减了少光学元件的使用数量。

图 1(b) 将 MTF 结果显示为宽窄视场角 16-180mm 折叠设计的空间频率函数,说明该设计获得接近衍射极限性能的能力。可以看出,这种设计的高 MTF 性能在整个区域都得到了保持,甚至在角落里性能也超出了合理范围。

2.2. 轻量级 20-275mm f/5.5 变焦镜头设计
20-275mm f/5.5 轻量级变焦镜头的光机械布局和图片如图 2(a) 所示。创新型光机设计仅有 264 克,与我们传统的 19-275 mm 镜头相比,减少了约 40%。尽管存在各种富有挑战性的 SWaP 限制条件,但先进的轻量级设计在整个区域内实现了很高的 MTF 值,如图 2(b) 所示。此外,先进材料的选择实现了独特的无热化,可以让镜头在 -35°C 至 +65°C 工作温度范围内 保持最佳性能。


图 2:轻量级 20-275mm f/5.5 变焦镜头——(a) 光机布局和图片,(b) MTF 特性

这种镜头的特性使镜头在一定尺寸和重量下具有较大的 变焦范围。例如,与 23mK NETD,15μm 像元尺寸探 测器集成(基于 FLIR92 模型计算)时,一辆 2.3m 长汽 车的探测范围大约为 15 公里。据我们所知,这是当今 市场上最小最轻的连续变焦镜头,可在恶劣环境条件下 和受限平台上实现先进红外热成像系统的高性能。

3. 结论
我们成功设计和应用了SWaP型的先进红外变焦镜头, 该镜头基于独特的折叠式光学设计,适用于 10μm 像元 尺寸尺寸,轻量级光学机械概念使镜头重量减少了 40% 以上。对于两种镜头,我们已经证明了 MTF 性能接近 衍射极限,镜头具有在恶劣环境条件下和受限平台上实 现高分辨率图像和识别的能力。此类变焦镜头为下一代 UAV、HHTI 和小型云台热成像应用带来了新的机会。

参考文献

  1. J.L. Ramsey et al., “Experimental verification of a MWIR/LWIR 3x continuous zoom lens”, Proc. SPIE 10998, 109980M1-6 (2019).
  2. G. Beadie et al., “Temperature-dependent dispersion fitting for a recent infrared glass catalog”, Proc. SPIE 10998, 10998041-6 (2019).
  3. D. Gibson et al., “Multispectral IR optics and GRIN”, Proc. SPIE 10998, 109980D1-10 (2019).
  4. S. Szapiel et al., “Freeform based lateral-shift compact zoom system: theory and computer simulations”, Proc. SPIE 10627, Advanced Optics for Defense Applications: UV through LWIR III, 1062707 (May 2018).

by Kobi (Jacob) Lasri
Ophir Optronics Solutions Ltd., MKS Instruments

Read TutorialRead as PDF

联系我们

Advanced IR Zoom Lenses for Next Generation Thermal Imaging Applications

Advanced IR Zoom Lenses for Next Generation Thermal Imaging Applications

Abstract: We review recent advances in the development of infrared zoom lenses that meet challenging requirements for reduced Size, Weight, and Power (SWaP) while enabling high resolution vision and identification in harsh environmental conditions and constrained platforms such as airborne and portable systems. The design considerations and performance of advanced folded-optics and lightweight zoom lenses optimized for next generation infrared thermal imaging systems and applications are described.

Presented at the International Conference on Optics & Electro Optics (ICOL), India, 2019.

1. Introduction
Infrared imaging applications are evolving at a rapid pace and continue to drive challenging requirements for reduced Size, Weight, and Power (SWaP). In particular, applications like Hand Held Thermal Imagers (HHTI), UAV, and small gimbals present a growing need for advanced, high-performance, IR thermal imaging systems with reduced size and weight. While advances in detector resolution should improve imaging performance, this is impossible without an accompanying improvement in the quality of the IR optical lens assembly. Specifically, in optics-limited systems, lens quality is playing a major role in determining the imaging performance, even with the best detector. The challenge falls on lens providers to design and produce compact, lightweight lenses with a crisp clean image over the entire zoom range and an MTF close to the diffraction limit. In this vein, various technologies are being used to meet these optical needs, including innovative opto-mechanical designs [1], exotic materials [2,3], and free-form optics [4]. In this report we demonstrate advanced designs of two continuous IR zoom lenses with reduced SWaP based on unique folded-optic and lightweight opto-mechanical concepts, respectively, suitable for next generation IR cooled detector and thermal imaging applications with constrained platforms.

2. Continuous Zoom Lens SWaP Designs
Two examples of SWaP zoom lenses for cooled MWIR IR sensors are described. The first is a 16-180mm f/3.6 continuous zoom lens in a folded-optic configuration suitable for compact gimbaled payloads with 10µm pixel cooled detectors. The second SWaP example is a 20-275mm f/5.5 continuous zoom lens with a unique light-weight opto-mechanical design suitable for UAVs, drones, and HHTI applications.

2.1. Folded-Optic 16-180mm f/3.6 Zoom Lens Design
Figures 1(a) demonstrates the opto-mechanical layout and picture of the 16-180mm f/3.6 zoom lens optimized for MWIR 10µm pixel detectors. The design is based on a standard relay and objective configuration with two moving groups that allow for the change in the focal length. The materials were selected using best practices, as well as the athermalization and achromatization concepts.


Fig. 1. Folded-optic 16-180mm f/3.6 zoom lens – (a) Opto-mechanical layout and picture, (b) MTF characteristics

The folded-optic design was implemented with long optical lengths for reduced sensitivity to tolerances in a compact configuration while addressing the various challenges of such a concept, including line-of-sight (LOS) stabilization and reduced number of optical elements based our capabilities for producing aspheric and diffractive surfaces with exceptional levels of accuracy and quality.

Figure 1(b) shows the MTF results as a function of spatial frequency of the 16-180mm folded design for the WFOV and NFOV, illustrating the capabilities of the design to obtain near diffraction limit performance. As can be seen, the high MTF performance of this design is maintained across the entire field and, even at the corners, the performance is more than reasonable.

2.2. Lightweight 20-275mm f/5.5 Zoom Lens Design
The 20-275mm f/5.5 lightweight zoom lens opto-mechanical layout and picture are presented in Fig. 2(a). The innovative opto-mechanical design resulted in only 264 gr, which is ~40% reduction compared to our legacy 19- 275mm lens. Despite the challenging SWaP restrictions, the advanced lightweight design resulted in high level of MTF values across the entire field, as shown in Fig. 2(b). Moreover, the selection of advanced materials enabled unique athermalization properties maintaining the highest performance over a wide operating temperature range of -35°C to +65°C.

The characteristics of this lens lead to long operational ranges relative to the lens size and weight. For example, the detection range of a 2.3m vehicle would be around 15km(!) when integrated with a 23mK NETD, 15µm pixel detector (based on FLIR92 model calculations). To the best of our knowledge, this is the smallest and lightest continuous zoom lens on the market today enabling such high-performance capabilities of advanced IR thermal imaging systems in harsh environmental conditions and constrained platforms.


Fig. 2. Lightweight 20-275mm f/5.5 zoom lens – (a) Opto-mechanical layout and picture, (b) MTF characteristics

3. Summary
We have successfully designed and implemented advanced IR zoom lenses with reduced SWaP which are based unique folded-optic design suitable for 10µm pixel size, as well as lightweight opto-mechanical concept that enabled over 40% weight reduction. In both lenses we have demonstrated MTF performance close to the diffraction limit and capabilities for high-resolution vision and identification in harsh environmental conditions and constrained platforms. Such zoom lenses open-up new opportunities in next generation UAV, HHTI, and small gimbals thermal imaging applications.

References

  1. J.L. Ramsey et al., “Experimental verification of a MWIR/LWIR 3x continuous zoom lens”, Proc. SPIE 10998, 109980M1-6 (2019).
  2. G. Beadie et al., “Temperature-dependent dispersion fitting for a recent infrared glass catalog”, Proc. SPIE 10998, 10998041-6 (2019).
  3. D. Gibson et al., “Multispectral IR optics and GRIN”, Proc. SPIE 10998, 109980D1-10 (2019).
  4. S. Szapiel et al., “Freeform based lateral-shift compact zoom system: theory and computer simulations”, Proc. SPIE 10627, Advanced Optics for Defense Applications: UV through LWIR III, 1062707 (May 2018).

by Kobi (Jacob) Lasri
Ophir Optronics Solutions Ltd., MKS Instruments

Read TutorialRead as PDF

Contact us