技术提示

用户经常会问我们使用 Ophir 仪器时各种环境条件(温度、湿度等)的规定范围。在本文中,我们将解释这些条件对激光测量的影响,这样您就能更有效地使用您的 Ophir 激光测量仪器。

Read More»

建议将传感器放在通风良好的容器内,而不要放在工具袋中,也不要放在有其他物品可能接触到传感器表面的地方。表头也应放在容器内,这样可以保护屏幕,以免有其他物品接触到屏幕或将屏幕碰碎。

Read More»

Ophir 传感器附带一根 1.5m 的线缆,可连接在传感器和智能头连接器之间。我们也会应客户需要,提供更长的线缆,只要线缆长度不超出传感器的有效工作范围即可。不过,不能在线缆上接延长线,因为将智能头连接器从表头或接口装置上取下,可能会影响到智能头的功能或使其失效。

Read More»

整个孔径范围内都可以感测功率,因此可以使用整个探头进行测量。具体而言,按照 Ophir 的规格,孔口截面中心 50% 面积区域(大约直径的 70% 以里)内的灵敏度波动始终保持在 +/-2% 以内。这个中心区域以外的灵敏度会略有下降,但总体而言,整个通光孔径范围内的灵敏度变化不会超过 +/-2%。

Read More»

对于一些配备散射片的热释电传感器(例如 PE50BF-DIF-C ,产品编号 7Z02941),在测量 10mm 直径的光束时要注意 (b):损伤阈值规格应降低 50%。为了说明对于较粗光束为何要降低损伤规格,请参见下面的图示。这涉及到光点直径的变化:对于较粗的光束,光点直径相对增加较少,能量密度降低的幅度较小;对于较细的光束,光点直径相对增加较多,能量密度降低的幅度较大。

Read More»

为使 LabVIEW 与 Ophir功率计或 PC 接口能够配合工作,必须安装 StarLab。LabVIEW 不通过 StarLab 应用程序通信。出于集成之目的,我们已创建了一个专门的 COM 对象控件。您需要安装 StarLab 以便同该控件通信。安装 StarLab 的同时,也会安装必要的 USB 驱动程序,并注册 LabVIEW(或其他用户程序)所需的 OphirLMMeasurement COM 对象,以便同 Ophir 功率计和 PC 接口通信。

如果不希望在安装 LabVIEW 的 PC 上安装 StarLab,还有一个可行方法。您可点击下面的连接获取该文档:该文档对 Ophir 的 COM 对象做了说明,包括在未安装 StarLab 的情况下如何运行。

Read More»

积分球
积分球用于测量发散光源。如图所示,积分球的内表面涂有高度反射层(反射率通常为 99%),可以非镜面散射方式反射光线。这样,当发散光束射到积分球壁上时,光线会多次反射和散射,直至射到积分球壁任何位置的光线强度相同。

Read More»

邮寄表头和传感器进行校准前,请先记下表头和传感器的设置。为了简化将校准后的 Ophir 测量仪重新集成到系统的过程,在邮寄仪器进行校准前,请记下仪器的设置和参数。

在校准期间,偶尔会出现将仪器设置恢复到默认设置的情况。这意味着您所收到的校准后的仪器,在设置和参数方面可能与您邮寄前的有所不同。最终用户会注意到,表头和/或传感器的运行方式上会有所变化。实际上,出现的差异可能很简单,比如表头的平均值功能设置发生更改,使现在的读数看起来不太稳定。

我们会尽量在校准前记下设置,校准后将设置恢复到收到仪表时的状况,但并不能保证都会如此。

因此请事先记下您的设置。这样就不用致电客户服务中心,也不会因设置改变而让您心情不快。

  • 波长
  • 对于功率测量:
    • Range(范围)
    • Average(平均) On(开)或 Off(关)。如果开启 Average(平均)功能,请记下时间 –即 3 秒、10 秒等>/li>
  • 对于能量测量:
    • Range(范围)
    • Threshold(阈值) 适用于热传感器:Low(低)、Med(中)、High(高)。
    • 对于热释电传感器,记下脉冲宽度设置。新款热释电传感器增加了多个选项,例如噪声环境的阈值设置。


尽管我们会尽量使校准后的仪器设置与收到仪器时的设置保持一致,但并不能保证都会如此。在邮寄仪器进行校准前,请花几分钟时间记下设置。在将校准后的设备重新安装到测量系统时,事先记下设置可节省时间。

Read More»

激光功率传感器在测量激光功率时会吸收一部分功率。如果消除功率热效应的速度没有吸收功率那么快,传感器可能会过热而失效。

很多 Ophir 的 OEM 功率传感器都有最高的平均功率规格:“XX 瓦可独立使用,YY 瓦需要散热。”用户如何确保传感器附带合适的散热功能?虽然我们不提供散热片,但我们会提供一些指导说明。

我们需要分开考虑两个不同的问题:

  • 将热量从传感器传导到散热片
  • 将散热片中的热量扩散到空气中
Read More»

Ophir 功率计使用的是 12 VDC 电源,电流为 500 mA。这个电源对大多数美国产品而言电压是反向的,也就是说外部接头是正极 (+),内部接头是负极 ( )。将电源连接到 Ophir 功率计时,确保电源为 12 VDC 500 mA 电源,插头中间为正极 (+)。一些新款的 Ophir 功率计(如 Vega 和 Quasar)兼容双电压,也就是电源中间为正极还是负极都可以。电源规格仍需要为 12 VDC、500 mA,但中间是正极还是负极均可。强烈建议使用设备附带的原装电源,如果原装电源丢失,可联系 Ophir 发送电源更换件。

Read More»
  • 该应用程序不需要安装在“最先进的”手机上。使用 3 年前的 HTC Legend(即便在该机刚发布时也不属于顶级机行列)就可以,按照当前的手机标准,我们测试时使用的手机属于中低档手机,但一样运行的很好。
  • 该软件需要安装在安卓 2.3.3 或以上版本的系统上。按照最新分析数据,当前 65% 的手机的安卓版本都符合要求(信息来自于 Google 对当前市面上手机的分析数据)。自 2011 年初发布安卓 2.3.3 版本以来,市面上几乎没有使用更老版本的手机。美国的手机合同承诺通常为两年,因此,大多数 2.2 和 2.1 版本的机主都可以在未来数月内升级到新版本。

下载 Quasar Reader App

Read More»

下面的 (A) 部分说明了我们如何执行此类校准。此外,PTB 最近在德国对 Ophir 的 5000W 探头进行了检查,结果表明我们的校准和他们的标准极为相符。(B) 部分列出了我们的传感器在功率达 1400W 的情况与其标准相符合的细节说明。

A.高功率传感器的测量校准方法及 5000W 和 10K-W 型号的估计精度

Read More»

范围选择
使用刚好超出要测量的脉冲能量的量程范围。例如,如要测量 2.7 J 的脉冲,则使用 3 J 的范围,而不要使用 30 J 的范围。这样可获得最高的分辨率(2.700 J 的读数相对于 2.70 J 的读数精度更高)。

阈值选择
对大多数能量测量而言,默认的 MEDIUM(中)阈值设置较为合适。如果在噪声环境或背景热辐射程度较高的环境下测量,则仪器可能会由于噪声或背景环境辐射而出现误触发。在这种情况下,用户可以选择 HIGH(高)阈值设置。这样可防止出现错误触发,确保传感器测量所要测量的脉冲。如在测量较低能量时仪器没有触发,则使用 LOW(低)阈值设置。此外,在所测能量小于满量程 10% 时,可使用 LOW 阈值来获取最佳精度。例如,如果使用 3 J 的量程范围来测量 0.3 J 的能量,设置 LOW 阈值通常会更为精确,而且可重复性更好。

Read More»
作者:INC 专业医疗教育协会激光培训所技术总监 Dan Little

从全球医疗行业来看,医疗器械阵营中已有数千种激光设备。从紫外线到远红外线波长的各种激光器,应用在从 Lasik 眼科手术到化妆皮肤修复等多个领域。皮肤医学和眼科学使用可见波长光束来锁定特定的补色发色团。激光功率和能量通过各种直径的光纤来传输:关节臂、聚焦机头、扫描器、显微操纵器,等等。面对这些不同应用,激光医疗设备维护人员面临多种测量难题。我们在总部位于俄亥俄州哥伦布市的激光培训研究所(lasertraining.org),面向医疗设备维护人员开办了学期为一周的激光维护培训学校。学校每年开课四次,新入学的学员将会学习功率和能量密度、吸收、光学等基本概念,以及大部分激光工作原理。我们从所有主要类型的医用激光器中精选了一些设备用于教学,使学员可以通过实践学习校准、准直和多种维护技能。

Read More»

Ophir 的热释电传感器可测量极低重复率下的能量、所谓的“单发”能量以及该传感器规格所允许的最高重复率范围内的各种重复率下的能量。在用户群中似乎有一个误解,认为热释电传感器无法测量单发能量。这种误解可能源于热式传感器只能测量极低重复率 (~0.2Hz) 下的能量,因此就认为热释电传感器与之相反,只能测量更快重复率下的能量,但事实并非如此。

Read More»

有时会遇到功率上下漂移的不利情况,对于这种不稳定的激光功率,最好采取什么样的测量方式。测量时是否要手动获取读数并记录到计算机中?

在这种情况下,最好的测量方式是多次读取测量读数然后计算测量读数的统计结果。为了真正做到随机抽取样本,您应严格按照特定的间隔时间读取并记录读数,不要尝试等待读数稳定或达到一个所谓“较好”的值再记录读数。

Read More»

例如,如果需要在光学设备的各个点处测量能量,以便确定系统每一阶段的特征,则可以在沿路径的每个位置安放一个传感器,将传感器并行连接,即形成一个多通道 Pulsar,然后使用 StarLab 应用程序记录数据。只要在一个时间窗口内打开所有通道,从该窗口记录,所有通道都将与同一零点同步。知道这个原理后,您就可以依靠时间戳来确定通道之间相互对应的脉冲。

Read More»

将光纤适配器附件与某个 Ophir 传感器配合使用时,务必要了解发射到传感器表面的功率/能量密度。大多数情况下,光纤适配器会使光纤头置于距离吸收器表面足够远的位置,使射到表面的光点直径较大,避免对表面造成损坏。不过,测量中并不总是能保证这样的距离长度!例如,使用 PD300 系列的传感器,尤其是有输入滤光片的情况下,这个距离可能会相当小。即便功率未超出规格限度,仍可能导致滤光片表面接收的功率密度过高,进而损坏滤光片。大多数情况下都不必担心会出现这样的情况,但如果注意到有任何参数似乎要接近规格限值,明智的做法是保持清晰头脑、快速进行检查。

Read More»
作者:Ophir Optronics 研发经理 Ephraim Greenfield

我们转而测量总能量,而不是测量功率,这样,表头的速度足以读取能量,及为 2.3s 秒后的下一个脉冲做好准备。这种方法的精度要好于 +/-1%

Read More»
作者:Ophir Optronics 研发经理 Ephraim Greenfield

使用相对较低的功率激光器(~ 120W CO2 和 ~200W YAG)校准 Ophir 的高功率激光功率计。与高功率激光器相比,使用此类低功率激光器校准仪器时会出现校准精度问题,因此我们做如下分析。

高功率传感器采用热电堆原理,即吸收层内的辐射热流使热电堆冷热节之间出现温差,进而导致出现电压差。

Read More»

在测量 193nm 准分子激光辐射时要特别谨慎,因为辐射会与普通物质发生强烈相互作用。这种辐射会被空气及空气中的水蒸气吸收,所以会导致测量的强度每厘米偏差 1%。

Read More»

Tech Tips

The Laserstar has an exclusive audio tune capability within the Power Tune function that makes adjusting your laser to its maximum power easy. Unlike a bar graph or mechanical meter, the Power Tune screen graphically shows what came before as well as the current reading and the trend. This allows you to determine if you have reached maximum power. The screen is completely auto-ranging. Therefore, as soon as the cursor goes over the top or under the bottom edge of the display, it re-scales to put the cursor back to the middle of the screen. This allows you to devote all your attention to tuning the laser, without having to worry about the Laserstar settings. The Laserstar can generate a rising or falling audio tone to indicate higher or lower power. You can also use the audio tone feature so you do not have to look at the LaserStar at all while tuning the laser.

To use the LaserStar to fine-tune laser power:

  • From the main power measurement screen press the menu button then select "tune". Now press "go" then "setup".
  • Set the percentage range of the power scale to be displayed by repeatedly pressing the value key.
  • Now select the horizontal sweep time you desire. Now select if you want an audio tone for tuning or not.
  • Now press "exit" and use the Power Tune screen to tune the laser power.


Laserstar Power Tune / Audio Tune

Read More»

The Laserstar has an exclusive audio tune capability within the Power Tune function that makes adjusting your laser to its maximum power easy. Unlike a bar graph or mechanical meter, the Power Tune screen graphically shows what came before as well as the current reading and the trend. This allows you to determine if you have reached maximum power. The screen is completely auto-ranging. Therefore, as soon as the cursor goes over the top or under the bottom edge of the display, it re-scales to put the cursor back to the middle of the screen. This allows you to devote all your attention to tuning the laser, without having to worry about the Laserstar settings. The Laserstar can generate a rising or falling audio tone to indicate higher or lower power. You can also use the audio tone feature so you do not have to look at the LaserStar at all while tuning the laser.

To use the LaserStar to fine-tune laser power:

  • From the main power measurement screen press the menu button then select "tune". Now press "go" then "setup".
  • Set the percentage range of the power scale to be displayed by repeatedly pressing the value key.
  • Now select the horizontal sweep time you desire. Now select if you want an audio tone for tuning or not.
  • Now press "exit" and use the Power Tune screen to tune the laser power.


Laserstar Power Tune / Audio Tune

Read More»

When measuring the energy of a pulsed laser setup with a pyroelectric energy sensor for the first time or after changing a setup, use the pyroelectric damage test slide provided with the sensor to insure the new energy and fluence level will not damage the sensor. The damage test slide is made of the same material as the sensor absorber and coated (if appropriate) with the same damage resistant coating. If you don’t have a damage test plate, or would like extra slides, you can contact sales@us.ophiropt.com or service@us.ophiropt.com to order the appropriate damage test slide for your sensor.

Read More»

Open StarLab and click on File and Open. Select the log file you want to open and click Open. This will load the log file into StarLab. Now to zoom in to a specific section click and hold on the area to the left side of the area you want to zoom in on. Drag the mouse curser to the right as far as you want the section to zoom in on and release the mouse button. You can continue to zoom in in this same way. If you need to zoom out, click and hold anywhere in the zoomed in area and drag to the left and release. It will zoom all the way out.

Read More»

Each given range represents one level of gain of an internal amplifier. The electronics, as always, have a limited Dynamic Range. If the measured signal is too low, in other words near the bottom of the range, then it may be lost in the noise and the reading will be inaccurate and noisy. If it’s too high – there may be saturation issues. To give an instrument a usefully wide dynamic range, multiple scales or ranges are used. Switching from range to range can be automatic (“Autorange”), or manual. Autoranging simply starts automatically at the least sensitive range and works its way down the ranges, sampling the signal as it goes, till it finds a range at which the signal is properly detected. Note, by the way, that only in POWER mode is Autoranging available. If we are working in Single Shot Energy mode, there is no Autoranging – simply because when we are measuring a single pulse, the instrument has no opportunity to work its way down the ranges as in Power mode.

Read More»

Since power and energy sensors use absorption materials that are not spectrally flat, you always need select the correct laser wavelength on the meter or in the interface software in order to achieve the specified sensor measurement accuracy. Power and energy sensors are calibrated to produce accurate measurement throughout their spectral range, however since they do not detect the wavelength in use, this is one entry that must be manually selected by the operator in order to achieve the specified accuracy.

Read More»

The online sensor finder now gives comments to help the user find a solution in case he does not succeed in doing so. Examples below:

Read More»

For optimal accuracy the Ophir thermal power meter sensor will be placed in the beam path perpendicular to the incident beam. There is an angular dependence that will reduce the measurement accuracy by some percentage as is indicated in the chart below. It is recommended that the angularity not exceed 20-30 degrees in order to keep the error to an acceptable minimum.

Read More»

We are often asked about the specified ranges of various ambient conditions (temperature, humidity, etc.) for Ophir instruments. In this article we will clarify the effects of these conditions on laser measurements, so you’ll be able to use your Ophir laser measurement instrument effectively.

Read More»

It is recommended that the sensor be put in a well-ventilated container instead of being put into a tool bag or in an area where other things can contact the sensor surface. The meters too should be put into a container so the screen is protected from objects that might contact and break the meter's screen.

Read More»

The Ophir sensors are provided with a 1.5m cable between the sensor and the smart head connector. When a longer length cable is needed it can be provided, as long as it is within operational limits. However it is not possible to add an extension to the cable, because that moves the smart head connector away from the meter or interface unit which can degrade the smart head functionality or disable it.

Read More»

The entire aperture senses power, so you can use the whole head. That said, a beam in the inner 50% of the surface area (about 70% of the diameter) is specified by Ophir to be uniform within +/-2%. The sensitivity around the edges might be a little less, but generally the sensitivity doesn’t vary by more than +/-2% over the entire aperture.

Read More»

For certain pyro sensors with a diffuser, such as the PE50BF-DIF-C P/N 7Z02941, there is a Note (b) that for 10mm beam size the damage threshold specification should be derated by 50%. To explain why the damage specification is derated for a larger beam size, please see the picture illustration below. This has to do with the smaller relative increase in spot size lowering the energy density less on a larger beam than the larger relative increase in spot size with a smaller beam lowering the energy density more.

Read More»

In order for LabVIEW to work with an Ophir power meter or PC interface, you must install StarLab. LabVIEW does not communicate via the StarLab application. We created a special COM object control for integration intent. You do need to Install StarLab in order to communicate with the device. The installation process of StarLab also installs the necessary USB drivers and registers the OphirLMMeasurement COM object required for LabVIEW (or other user programs) for communication with Ophir power meters and PC interfaces.

If you do not wish to install StarLab on your LabVIEW PC, there is a way. The document available at;OphirLMMeasurement_COM_Object.pdf
describes Ophir's COM object, including how to do it without installing StarLab.

Read More»

Integrating Sphere
An integrating sphere is used to measure a divergent light source. As shown in the illustration, an integrating sphere has its inner surface coated with a surface that highly reflects (typically 99%) in a scattering, nonspecular way. Thus when a divergent beam hits the walls of the integrating sphere, the light is reflected and scattered many times until the light hitting any place on the walls of the sphere has the same intensity.

Read More»

Note the settings on your meter and sensor before sending the units in for calibration. To simplify the reintegration of your Ophir measurement instruments back into your system, please record your settings and parameters before sending your devices in for calibration.

During the calibration process occasionally we change the settings on an instrument back to the default. This means that when you receive the equipment back it will likely not start up as you had it. The end-user will see a change in how the meter and/or sensor are behaving. The difference could be as simple as changing the Average function, so the readings now appear less stable.

We try to note the settings and return them to the as-received state, but this isn’t always possible.

Note your settings. It might prevent a call to Customer Service and hours of frustration.

  • Wavelength
  • For measuring Power:
    • Range
    • Average – On or off. If Average is on, note the time –i.e. 3 sec, 10 sec, etc.
  • For measuring Energy:
    • Range
    • Threshold – For thermal sensors, Low, Med, High.
    • For pyroelectric sensors, note the pulse width setting. The new pyroelectric sensors have many other options, such as threshold settings for noisy environments.


While we try to leave your instrument settings as they arrive, this isn’t always the case. Taking a few minutes to note the settings before you send your equipment in for calibration will save time when you reintegrate the devices into your measurement system.

Read More»

A laser power sensor absorbs laser power while measuring it. If that power is not removed at least as fast as it comes in, the sensor could overheat and fail.

Many of Ophir’s OEM power sensors have a maximum average power specification of “XX watts free standing, YY watts heat sinked.” How does one make sure that a sensor has been provided with proper heat sinking? While we do not provide heat sinks, we do offer some guidelines.

We need to consider two separate issues:

  • Conduction of heat out of the sensor into the heat sink
  • Dissipation of the heat from the heat sink to the air
Read More»

Ophir power meters use a 12 VDC power supply that supplies 500 mA. This power supply is reverse voltage to most US products, meaning the outside connection is positive (+) and the inside is negative (-). When connecting a power supply to the Ophir power meter, make sure that the power supply is a 12 VDC 500 mA power supply and that the center is positive (+). Some of the newer Ophir power meters like the Vega and Quasar are dual voltage compatible meaning it does not matter if the power supply is center positive or center negative. It still needs to be 12 VDC and 500 mA, but it can be either a center positive or center negative. It is highly recommended that the original power supply included with the equipment be used and if it is missing that Ophir be contacted for a replacement supply.

Read More»

 

  • The application does not require “state-of-the-art” phones. It works perfectly OK with 3 year-old HTC Legend (that was not top of the line phone even when it was first announced) and it works well with our test phone which is defined mid-to-low range in today’s phone standards.
  • The software does require android version of 2.3.3 and above. According to latest analysis they account for 65% of current phones (this information comes from google analysis of active phones). Since version 2.3.3 was released in early 2011, almost no new phones are sold with older versions. The contract commitment in the US is usually two years, so most 2.2 and 2.1 phone owners there will probably upgrade to newer phones in the coming months.

To download the Quasar Reader App

Read More»

An explanation of how we do this is provided below (A). In addition, a recent check of Ophir’s 5000W head by PTB in Germany shows excellent agreement between our calibration and their standards. The details of the correspondence between our sensor and their standard at powers up to 1400W is included here (B).

A. High Power Measurement Calibration Method and Estimated Accuracy of Models 5000W and 10K-W

Read More»

Range Selection
Use the lowest range that is larger than the pulse energy to be measured. For example, if you want to measure a 2.7 Joule pulse, use the 3 J range instead of the 30 J range. This will allow for maximum resolution (a 2.700 J reading versus a 2.70 J reading).

Threshold Selection
For most energy measurements, the default MEDIUM setting is appropriate. If taking measurements in a noisy environment or where there is a high level of background thermal radiation, the instrument may trigger spuriously on the noise or the background radiation. In this case, the user may select the HIGH threshold setting. This will prevent false triggering and ensure the sensor is measuring the intended pulse. If you are measuring small energies and the unit does not trigger, set the threshold for LOW. LOW threshold may also be used for the best accuracy if the energy measured is less than 10% of the range. For example if measuring less than .3 J in the 3 J range, LOW threshold is often more accurate, and will be more repeatable.

Read More»
By Dan Little, Technical Director, Laser Training Institute, Professional Medical Education Association, INC

The global medical industry incorporates thousands of lasers into its arsenal of treatment tools. Wavelengths from UV to Far-infrared are used for everything from Lasik eye surgery to cosmetic skin resurfacing. Visible wavelengths are used in dermatology and ophthalmology to target selective complementary color chromophores. Laser powers and energies are delivered through a wide range of fiber diameters, articulated arms, focusing handpieces, scanners, micromanipulators and more. With all these variables, medical laser service personnel are faced with multiple measurement obstacles. At the Laser Training Institute (lasertraining.org), with headquarters in Columbus Ohio, we offer a week-long laser service school to medical service personnel. Four times a year, a new class will learn the fundamental concepts of power and energy densities, absorption, optics and most of all how lasers work. With a nice sampling of all the major types of medical lasers, the students learn hands-on calibration, alignment and multiple service skills.

Read More»

Ophir pyroelectric sensors can measure energy at very low repetition rates, what is called “single shot” energy as well as at various repetition rates all the way up to the maximum in the specification for such sensors. There seems to be a misunderstanding among users that pyroelectric sensors cannot measure single shot energy. This probably comes about since thermal sensors can only measure at very low repetition rates (~0.2Hz), then it is assumed that the converse applies to pyroelectric sensors, i.e. that they only can only measure at faster repetition rates, but this is not true.

Read More»

What is the best way to measure the power of a laser that is, unfortunately, not stable, where the power is drifting upwards or downwards. I am making a measurement taking readings by hand and logging to computer?

The best way to measure in such a condition is to take statistics of a number of readings. In order for the sample to be truly random, you should a given intervals look at the reading and take it down as seen with no attempt to wait for it to stabilize or reach a "better" value.

Read More»

If, for example, you need to measure energy at various points along an optical setup in order to characterize each stage of your system, you can place a sensor at each location along the way and connect the sensors in parallel to, say, a multi-channel Pulsar, and log the data using the StarLab application. So long as you open all channels in a single window and log from that window, all the channels will be synchronized with the same zero point. Knowing that, you can rely on the time stamps to tell you which pulse in each channel corresponds to which pulse in the other channels.

Read More»

When using a Fiber Adapter accessory together with one of Ophir's sensors, it is important to be aware of the power/energy density that is going to reach the sensor's surface.In most cases, the fiber adapter locates the fiber tip far enough away from the absorber surface that the spot diameter on the surface will be large, and problems of damage avoided. However, that is not always a certainty! For example, when using a sensor from the PD300 series, especially with filter IN, this distance could be quite small. A power level that is within spec limits could still result in a power density on the filter that is too high, and the result could be damage to the filter. In most cases, as noted, this is not a concern, but in cases where any one parameter seems like it is going to be near a limit, a quick sanity check is a good idea.

Read More»
by Ephraim Greenfield, Manager, R&D, Ophir Optronics
Instead of measuring power we measure total energy and the meter is fast enough to read out the energy and be ready for the next pulse 2.3s later. The accuracy of this method is better than +/-1%
Read More»
by Ephraim Greenfield, Manager, R&D, Ophir Optronics
Ophir high power laser power meters are calibrated using relatively low power lasers (~ 120W CO2 and ~200W YAG). Using such a low power laser to calibrate the instrument vs. the high power at which it is used raises the question of the accuracy of calibration, hence the following analysis.

The high power sensors work on the thermopile principle, where the heat flows radially in the absorber disk causing a temperature difference between the hot and cold junctions of the thermopile which in turn causes a voltage difference across the thermopile.
Read More»
193nm excimer laser radiation needs special precautions in measurement because of its strong interaction with ordinary matter. This radiation is absorbed by ordinary air and water vapor in the air so that the intensity measured can vary by 1% per cm.
Read More»