技术提示

点击 Computations(计算)选项卡,在 Optical Scaling(光学定标)部分点击像小尺子一样的图标。这样就可在右侧的文本框中输入数据。在文本框中输入所需的放大系数,然后按 Enter 键。在测量大尺寸光束时,如果希望减少光束尺寸以适合相机影像传感器的大小,则在此框中输入尺寸缩小值。在测量小尺寸光束时,如果希望放大光束尺寸以适合相机影像传感器的大小,则在此框中输入放大倍数的倒数。

例如:对于 60 倍的显微目镜,要在此框中输入 1/60 或 0.01667 然后按 Enter 键。系统将提取结果中报告的当前光束尺寸,将其乘以 0.01667,以便显示光束的实际尺寸,而不是相机影像传感器上捕获的光束尺寸。

Read More»

而无需占用主处理器来显示 2D 和 3D 光束轮廓图。为获得最佳效果,建议计算机上使用中高档显卡。对于笔记本,我们建议选用安装更高性能显卡的机器。对于台式机,更换一个性能更好的显卡要相对容易,而且从效果来看,增加的显卡成本也会物有所值。

Read More»

BeamGage 可以 PDF 或 XPS 格式生成包含所显示内容的报告。要生成报告,请点击 Ribbon 工具栏上的 Reports(报告)选项卡,随即会显示可包括在报告中的内容选项。在要包含在报告中的内容选项旁边打上叉号。如果包括光束轮廓,则报告中打印出来的轮廓会与您在屏幕上看到的完全一样。如要保存墨水,点击 Include(包括)按钮旁边的紫色四方按钮,这样就可生成浅色背景的报告。如要使不同报告部分显示在不同的页面,则点击看起来像两页纸而且纸业顶部有紫色方块的按钮。此部分有两个数字窗口,用于选择报告中的起始帧以及生成报告的帧数。点击 Save(保存)按钮可以 PDF 或 XPS 格式保存报告。点击 Printer(打印机)按钮可将报告直接发送到您的默认打印机。

Read More»

观看, Ophir Spiricon 地区销售经理 Dan Ford 在本年的 2013 美国西部光电展上演示最新的激光光束轮廓分析软件。

Read More»

对于 USB 和 IEEE 1394 FireWire 接口的相机,这意味着要通过独立的接口连接,而不能通过集线器连接。计算机上所有内置的 USB 接口都可能位于同一个内部集线器上,因此最好不要只是将相机连接到计算机上的不同 USB 端口。对于 IEEE 1394 FireWire 连接也是如此。最好的做法是对每个相机使用专门的适配器卡,以达到最佳带宽。

Read More»

相机驱动程序安装。Ophir Spiricon 的 BeamGage 光束轮廓分析软件包括软件程序本身,它需要安装要与软件配合使用的相机源的驱动程序。

从 BeamGage 5.9 版开始,软件附带新的相机驱动程序管理器“DriverManager.exe”实用程序,该程序会在第一次安装 BeamGage 软件后自动启动,帮助您为相机源安装正确的驱动程序。相机驱动程序管理器“DriverManager.exe” 安装在 C:Program FilesBeamGage 文件夹中,如果切换到其他相机,可以再次运行该管理器以安装相应的驱动程序。

阅读更多 有关操作相机驱动程序管理器实用程序的说明。

Read More»

9mm/5µm 孔径/狭缝的 NanoScan 是使用 NanoModeScan 测量光束质量因子 M2(M 平方)的最佳扫描头。不过对于 M2 测量,我们不推荐使用最小的扫描头(3.5mm 孔径、1.8μm 狭缝),因为这类扫描头容易受所谓渐晕的影响:扫描狭缝通常被认为是二维的,但根据形成狭缝所切割的材料,狭缝也会有厚度。该材料通常大约 13μm 厚,因此我们所谓的狭缝实际上更像一个孔道(狭缝厚度为其宽度的七倍以上)。鉴于这样的情况,如果激光光束太宽或者易发生偏角,一部分光束就可能被遮住。为避免这种情况,我们应确保使用足够宽的狭缝。当激光光束宽度超过约 2mm 时,最小的 1.8μm 的狭缝可能会受到渐晕的影响。

Read More»

NanoScan 狭缝和针孔孔径的材质非常薄且易损坏。任何物理接触都有可能造成破损。例如,光纤头位置距离孔径过近很容易会损坏狭缝。小心处理狭缝;因为狭缝非常容易损坏,绝不要 用任何东西触碰狭缝!

灰尘颗粒等碎屑可能会挂在极精细的狭缝或针孔开口处,妨碍入射光束穿过。这可能会影响仪器的测量,导致测量结果不正确或不一致。对于狭缝,几粒灰尘颗粒就有可能造成问题,具体要取决于应用程序和测量配置,而灰尘颗粒积聚起来造成的污染更有可能带来麻烦。对于针孔孔径,只要有一个颗粒物就可能造成严重后果。因此, 不使用系统时,建议用保护性塑料套罩住扫描头入射孔径以避免造成污染。 如果观察到测量出现不一致的情况,并且怀疑是由碎屑污染造成的,可喷射清洁的压缩空气来解决问题, 不过空气压力过大也可能会损坏孔径。任何情况下都不要尝试使用溶剂来清洁孔径!如果怀疑孔径受到污染,建议 将设备返回 Photon 进行孔径检查、清洁或更换并重新校准。

在返回 NanoScan 进行检查/维修/重新校准时,务必要装上塑料套,以在运输期间保护孔径避免粘上碎屑。

Read More»

为了从 ModeScan 1780 光束分析仪获取正确的结果,有必要了解使用哪些透镜以及测量激光特定参数时的透镜放置位置。 ModeScan 1780 计算工具

Read More»

经常有用户问,如何将数据从 NanoScan 输出到其他程序,以便做进一步的分析或者供发布之用。根据所要获取的最终结果,这个问题会有很多答案。在本应用说明中,我们将尝试解释这些不同的解决方案。

Active X
NanoScan Pro 分析软件程序包括 Active X 服务器。该服务器允许用户在多个平台(如 Visual Basic、LabVIEW、Excel 等)上编写程序和例程,用于控制 NanoScan,以及将数据输出到其他自动化系统、数据表格或数据库。Active X 自动化服务器取代了以前 BeamScan 使用的 SDK(软件开发套件)。NanoScan 软件包有一个名称为“Automation”的文件夹,安装软件时会加载到您的计算机上。您可在该 Photon 程序文件安装目录下找到这个文件夹(例如,C:Program FilesPhotonNanoScanAutomation)。在该文件夹中,可以看到 Excel (***.xls) 格式的 Active X 示例和 LabVIEW (***.vi) 格式的示例,您可在这些示例的基础上编写您自己的例程。

Read More»

MS-1780 的正确准直是该分析仪运行的必备条件,不过有的时候似乎很难做到准直。这里给出一个简单的方法,可确保系统正确准直,从而创造“必要”条件,以便轻松进行精细调整来获得实验结果。

为使系统正确工作,需要使激光光束射入仪器水平轴上的孔径的光学中心位置。为了能够精细调节光束,可以使用反射镜来引导光束。反射镜可以是镜子,如果希望输入光束有所衰减,也可以用石英片前表面反光镜。为便于对 MS-1780 准直矫正,激光器应安放在同一高度。

Read More»

使用 Ophir 的 ModeScan 1780 时,务必要在正确的位置使用合适的透镜,这样才能获取最准确的效果。为此,您要下载 ModeScan 1780 计算工具 Excel 工作薄),以计算测量指定激光参数时透镜的最佳放置位置。您也可以下载我们的 计算工具指南 ,查看有关如何使用此计算工具的分布指导说明,以及有关此类计算工具的详细背景知识。

Read More»

因为 BeamScan 产品的使用寿命已尽,经常有用户询问哪些型号的 NanoScan 与现有的 BeamScan 型号最为接近。与 BeamScan 相比,NanoScan 扫描头的配置要少得多,因为有些在 BeamScan 型号上通过硬件写入的功能,在 NanoScan 上都可通过软件调节。

例如,一些 BeamScan 通过硬件设置为在 5Hz 扫描率下运行,而非 10Hz,如果希望以 10Hz 运行,就需要为扫描头专门配置一个部件。而在 NanoScan 上则没有这个必要,因为可以通过操作软件来控制扫描率。

Read More»

BeamGage Professional 和 BeamGage Enterprise 5.7 版通过 .Net 组件来获取自动化支持。两款软件都包含可利用 LabVIEW 运行时引擎运行的 LabVIEW 样例,这些样例随 BeamGage 软件 CD 附带,也可从 National Instruments(美国国家仪器公司)网站上免费下载。

Read More»

所有光束轮廓分析系统都附带内容全面的 PDF 用户指南手册。这些手册通过软件安装 CD 提供,安装光束轮廓分析软件时,会自动以一个独立 PDF 文件的形式解压到安装软件的文件夹下。除了用户指南手册,光束轮廓分析软件的安装目录下还有自述文件和支持文档。例如,BeamGage Professional 软件会在 C:Program FilesSpiriconBeamGageProfessionalAutomationDocumentation 文件夹下安装一个有关自动化的完整超文本格式手册。

如果只是要搜索特定光束轮廓分析系统手册的 PDF 副本,也可通过以下网址获取: http://www.ophiropt.com/laser-measurement-instruments/beam-profilers/services/manuals

Read More»
作者:Ophir-Photon 有限责任公司销售与营销经理 Allen M. Cary

与树脂玻璃块、光感应纸甚至红外卡的成本相比,光束分析仪似乎都显得更为昂贵。几乎所有销售过测试设备的人都听过潜在客户有这样的抱怨:“这东西太贵了!”实际上,不论你卖的是什么东西,都会有客户这样抱怨。在大多数销售培训课程中,有大量的章节是关于如何应对客户异议的,其中首当其冲讨论的客户抱怨就是“这东西太贵了”。

Read More»

务必要在软件中输入正确的脉冲重复频率。通常,合适的频率值并不是激光制造商所声称或用户记住的值。为此,NanoScan 将实际测量并报告脉冲重复频率。在软件的采集设置中使用这个数字,测量结果会好得多。

Read More»
作者:Ophir-Spiricon 有限责任公司工程设计部 William Owens

那么“自动化接口”的整个概念是如何产生的呢?好,我这里有一个短之又短的相关历史介绍。最初,所有程序都比较简单。用户使用简单的菜单,其中只包含同样简单的几条命令。大多数命令都有较为有趣、容易记忆的组合快捷键。这个程序的世界很完美。随后,有人灵光一闪,想要在应用程序上添加“新功能”,而且这样的行为似乎很酷。很快,这个主意一下就流行起来,整个程序世界都在你追我赶,唯恐落后。很快,几十年过去了,我们似乎就有了有成千上万种功能的成千上万个程序。遗憾的是,在同样的时间内,程序的这种进化过程却未能在人脑上有所体现。

Read More»

Tech Tips

BeamGage 6.1 Professional and Enterprise have a new feature that provides the ability to create user defined special calculations inside the BeamGage Professional or Enterprise application. With this new feature, BeamGage Professional or Enterprise operators can now program their own set of “Custom Calculations”. This functionality allows users to analyze data in any manner they deem necessary. To be able to utilize this capability, it is recommended to have good proficiency in writing programs in Microsoft Visual Basic, and/or C++, and/or C#. There are new Custom Calculations documents that will assist in developing this capability. This documentation is available in HTML format for ease of use and is installed with BeamGage Professional and Enterprise.

Read More»

BeamGage produces five different types of files. All use industry standard formats. The list of file types and their naming extensions are as follows:

Read More»

One of the differences between a CCD and slit scanning beam profiler is the lower limit of beam size measurement. A CCD is limited to around 10 pixels for an accurate beam measurement. With the current CCD technology, this means that a CCD can measure a beam of approximately 40-50um diameter. A scanning slit profiler is known for being able to measure smaller beams—but just how small?

Read More»

Scanning slit profilers (such as Ophir’s NanoScan) boast several advantageous qualities, such as the ability to measure high powers without attenuation, relatively inexpensive infrared compatibility, and more. But whenever someone mentions pulsed beams, there’s always a pause. Well, what’s your pulse frequency? Beam width? What kind of accuracy are you looking for?

Read More»

You may have experienced a break in the What’s This button in BeamGage when it is no longer working after you have updated Adobe Reader. This is a security feature in Adobe Reader. You can easily fix this by following the steps the below.

Read More»

Click on the Computations tab and in the Optical Scaling section click the icon that looks like a mini ruler. This will enable the box to the right. Input the magnification factor needed in this box and hit enter. When working with a big beam that you are reducing to fit on the camera imager enter the size reduction into this box. When working with a small beam that you are expanding to fit on the camera imager enter the inverse of your magnification into this box.

Example: For a 60X microscope objective you would enter 1/60 or 0.01667 into this box and hit enter. This will take the current beam size being reported in the results and multiply it by 0.01667 to display the actual size of the beam instead of the beam size that is hitting on the camera imager.

Read More»

Included below are helpful hints for installing the Pyrocam III, particularly in Windows 7.
Note; in general we recommend to not use 4-pin on-board 1394 FireWire ports (that can be found on some laptop computers) since they tend to be less reliable and/or cause the Pyrocam III to freeze when running. Instead we recommend using 6-pin plug-in adapter FireWire cards that support the 1394a 400MBS protocol used with the Pyrocam III. In newer Laptops with only ExpressCard slots, a 1394b 800MBS ExpressCard Adapter with a 9-pin FireWire connector can be used as long as you use a 9-pin to 6-pin FireWire cable.

Read More»

Click on the Computations tab and in the Optical Scaling section click the icon that looks like a mini ruler. This will enable the box to the right. Input the magnification factor needed in this box and hit enter. When working with a big beam that you are reducing to fit on the camera imager enter the size reduction into this box. When working with a small beam that you are expanding to fit on the camera imager enter the inverse of your magnification into this box.

Example: For a 60X microscope objective you would enter 1/60 or 0.01667 into this box and hit enter. This will take the current beam size being reported in the results and multiply it by 0.01667 to display the actual size of the beam instead of the beam size that is hitting on the camera imager.

Read More»

in the computer instead of the main processor for displaying the 2D and 3D beam profile. It is recommended that a medium to high end video graphics card be used in the computer for best performance. For laptops, we recommend if a higher performing graphics card is available that it be optioned in. For desktop computers changing the graphics card to an improved performance graphics card is easier and the additional cost will be worth the performance increase.

Read More»

BeamGage can generate a report of what is being seen on the screen in either a PDF or XPS format. To do this, click on the Reports tab in the ribbon bar and click on the Include button to show what items to include in the report. Place a check mark next to the items to be included in the report. If you are including the beam profiles, they will be printed exactly as you see them on the screen. If you want to save ink, click on the purple square button to the right of the Include button to enable the report to be generated with a light background. If you want each section of the report on a different page click on the button that looks like two pages with purple squares at their top. The two number windows in this section are for selecting which frame to start the report with and how many frames to generate reports on. Clicking the Save button will allow you to save the report in either PDF or XPS format. The Printer button sends the report directly to your default printer.

Read More»

Watch Dan Ford, Ophir-Spiricon’s Regional Sales Manager demonstrate the latest laser beam profiling software at this year’s Photonics West 2013 trade show.

Read More»

For USB and IEEE 1394 FireWire cameras, this means connecting them on their own connection and not via a hub. All the built in USB connections on a computer could be on the same internal hub, so it is best not to connect the cameras just to different USB ports on the computer. The same is true for IEEE 1394 FireWire connections. It’s better to use a dedicated adapter card for each camera in order to achieve the best possible bandwidth.

Read More»

Camera Driver Installation. The Ophir-Spiricon BeamGage beam profiling software includes the actual software program itself and requires additional drivers for the camera source being used with the software.

Beginning with BeamGage version 5.9, a new Camera Driver Manager “DriverManager.exe” utility is included which automatically starts the first time after installing BeamGage and assists with installing the correct driver for the camera source. The Camera Driver Manager “DriverManager.exe” installs to the C:Program FilesBeamGage folder and can also be run again later when switching to a different camera to install the correct corresponding driver.

Read more for instructions on operating the Camera Driver Manager utility.

Read More»

The NanoScan 9mm/5µm (aperture/slit) is the best scan head for measuring M-Squared with NanoModeScan. We do not, however, recommend using the smallest scan heads (3.5mm aperture, 1.8μm slit) for M2 measurement, because they are subject to a distortion effect called vignetting: Scanning slits are usually thought of as two dimensional, but they also have thickness, based on the material that they are cut into. Since this material is generally about 13μm thick, what we think of as a slit is actually more like a tunnel (over seven times thicker than it is wide). As a result of this configuration, if a laser beam is either too wide or incident on an angle, part of the beam can be cut off. To avoid this, we make sure to use a slit that is wide enough to allow for this. The smallest 1.8μm slit can be subject to vignetting when the laser beam width exceeds about 2mm.

Read More»

The NanoScan slit and pinhole aperture substrates are very thin and extremely fragile. Any physical contact will likely damage them. For example, fiber tips placed too close to the aperture can easily damage a slit. Treat the slits with care; because of their fragility, never touch them with anything!

Debris such as dust particles can lodge in the very fine openings of the slits or pinholes and obstruct the passage of the incident beam. This can compromise instrument performance, resulting in erroneous or inconsistent measurements. With slits, a few dust particles may or may not be a problem, depending on the application and measurement configuration, and contamination by many particles is more likely to create a problem. With pinhole apertures a single particle can be disastrous. Therefore, when the system is not in use, it is recommended that the protective plastic cap be used to cover the scan head entrance aperture to avoid possible contamination. If inconsistent performance is observed and contamination by debris is suspected, a clean jet of compressed air may solve the problem, but excessive pressure may also damage the apertures. Do not under any circumstances attempt to clean the apertures with solvents! If aperture contamination is suspected, it is recommended that the unit be returned to Photon for aperture inspection, cleaning or replacement, and recalibration.

When returning a NanoScan for inspection/repair/recalibration, do install the plastic cap cover to protect the apertures from debris contamination during shipment.

Read More»

In order to get proper results from the ModeScan 1780 beam profiler, it is necessary to understand which lens to use and where to locate it for particular parameters of the laser under test. The ModeScan 1780 calculator

Read More»

We are frequently asked how one can output data from the NanoScan to other programs for additional analysis or publication. Depending nature of the desired end results there can be many answers to this question. In this application note we will try to explain these different solutions.

Active X
The NanoScan Pro analysis software program includes the Active X server. This allows the user to write programs and routines in a number of platforms, such as Visual Basic, LabVIEW, Excel and others, which will control the NanoScan and output data to different automation systems, spreadsheets or databases. Active X automation takes the place of the older SDK (software developers’ kit) that was available for BeamScan. The software package has a folder entitled “Automation” that is loaded onto your computer when the software is installed. You can find this folder in the Photon program file (e.g., C:\Program FilesPhotonNanoScanAutomation). In it you will find examples of Active X routines for Excel (***.xls) and LabVIEW (***.vi), which should give you a starting place to create your own routines.

Read More»

Proper alignment of the MS-1780 is essential for its operation, and this can occasionally seem difficult to achieve. Here is a simple method for making sure the system is properly aligned to get the “first light” conditions that will allow easy fine tuning for experimental results.

In order for the system to work properly the laser beam needs to enter the optical center of the aperture on the horizontal axis of the instrument. In order to be able to fine-adjust the beam it is useful to use steering mirrors to direct the beam. These can be mirrors or quartz plate front surface reflectors if attenuation of the input beam is desired. For ease of alignment the MS-1780 and the laser should be set up at the same height.

Read More»

When using Ophir’s ModeScan 1780, it is important to use the right lens in the proper location to get the most accurate results. To this end, you should download the ModeScan 1780 Calculator (an excel workbook) to calculate the optimal lens placement given your laser parameters. You can also download our Calculator Guide for step-by-step instructions on using this calculator, as well as more detailed background information on the subject.

Read More»

As the BeamScan products reach the end of their useful lifetime, we are often asked which NanoScan models most closely match an existing BeamScan model. There are far fewer configurations of NanoScan head than there were BeamScans, because some of the features that were hardwired into BeamScan models are software adjustable in the NanoScan.

For example, some BeamScans were wired to run at 5Hz, instead of 10Hz, and this feature was part of the model number. This is unnescessary in the NanoScan, because the scan rate is controllable from the operating software.

Read More»

BeamGage Professional and BeamGage Enterprise version 5.7 are supported with Automation via .Net components. Both include a LabVIEW example that can be run with the LabVIEW Run-Time Engine that is provided with the BeamGage software CD or available for free download from National Instruments.

Read More»

All of the Beam Profiling systems include comprehensive PDF User Guide Manuals. These manuals are provided on the software installation CD and are installed to the folder where the beam profiling software installs as a separate PDF file. In addition to the User Guide Manuals, there are also readme files and support documentation that can be found in the folder where the beam profiling software installs. For example the BeamGage Professional software installs a full hypertext manual for automation in the C:Program FilesSpiriconBeamGage ProfessionalAutomationDocumentation folder.

If you are searching just for a PDF copy of a particular beam profiling system manual, they are also available from the web site at; http://www.ophiropt.com/laser-measurement-instruments/beam-profilers/services/manuals

Read More»

How does one get the most attenuation with the three (3) supplied ND filters that come with BeamGage® CCD cameras?

For most applications, laser beam intensity is too high for the operating range of the CCD. Therefore, ND glass attenuator filters are available to reduce the intensity to the proper level at the CCD. One stackable ND1 filter and two ND2 filters are supplied standard with each CCD camera. These filters are carefully designed not to affect beam quality or cause interference effects.

Read More»
by Allen M. Cary, Sales & Marketing Manager, Ophir-Photon LLC

When compared with the cost of Plexiglas blocks, burn papers, or even IR cards, a beam profiler may seem expensive. Almost anyone who has sold test equipment, at one time or another has heard the complaint from a potential customer, “It’s too expensive!” In fact, almost anyone who has ever sold anything has heard this lament. In most sales training courses there is an extensive section on overcoming objections, and the most prominent objection discussed is always the “it’s-too- expensive” objection.

Read More»

it is important to input the correct pulse rate into the software. Often this is not the value that the laser manufacturer reports or that the user remembers. For this reason the NanoScan will actually measure and report the pulse repetition rate. Use this number in the software acquisition set up, and the results will be much better.

Read More»
By William Owens, Engineering Dept., Ophir-Spiricon, LLC

So how did this whole concept of an “Automation Interface” come about? Well, here is my short-short history on the topic. In the beginning, all programs were simple. Users had simple menus with a few equally simple commands. Most commands had shortcut-key combinations that were fun and easy to remember. The world was a wonderful place. Then somebody got the bright idea that adding “New Features” to an application was cool. Pretty soon the idea caught on and the whole world was playing “keep up with the Joneses.” Fast-forward a few decades and we seem to have thousands of applications with thousands of features. Unfortunately, this evolutionary process did not take place within the human mind over an equally short period of time.

Read More»